Casabloga: Moana

***This review contains spoilers***

I was considering not covering this one, because it seems that I cover all major animated films. But I was scrolling through my past reviews and noticed that I reviewed Frozen. it’d feel wrong to review Frozen and not Moana, because as much as I loved Frozen, I honestly have tio say that Moana was better. For so many reasons.

Where Anna had the same awkward quirkiness that is given to most female characters they try to give a personality to, Moana was a totally unique character that I immediately loved. Her life from toddler to adult is told through song at the beginning, and it’s made perfectly clear that she has a longing for the sea. The sea is, quite literally, calling to her. But her parents don’t want her to go out on the sea, (because of the thousand year old backstory in the introduction). she is also expected to be made cheif of the villiage, so she has to be kept safe.

The trailers made it look as though Moana and Maui are old friends. But she doesn’t meet him until around halfway through the film, and they don’t even like each other at first. He spends a large portion of the rest of the film trying to get rid of her.

The film sets it up that Maui has to be the one to save the day, but it turns out to be Moana who does it.

I couldn’t do this review justice if I didn’t talk about the music. When I fond out it was another singing Disney film, I rolled my eyes. But I actually loved most of the songs in this one. They’re not as memorable as Let It Go, but I’d still listen to them independently from th movie. In fact, I am listening to How Far I’ll Go on Spotify as I type this. Heck, I’ll add it to my playlist on the right side of this page.

Can’t forget the comedy. I was laughing a lot during this film. As weird as it seems, I think my favourite comedic thing about this film is Moana’s chicken, Heihei, who always pecks the wrong thing.

Although I already spoiled the end by saying that Moana saves the day, I feel telling too much more will spoil it even more. I went in knowing only what the first couple of trailers showed, so I went in mostly blind and I loved it, and I think you should as well. Granted, I didn’t know anything  I’ve written here before going in…

One last thing, I have to point out that this was the acting debut for Auli’i Cravalho, the voice of Moana. I believe she was perfectly cast. She also sings How Far I’ll Go, which I’ve added to this blog’s Spotify playlist on the right. Not only because she’s actually the age of the character, but also the nationality, for the most part. She’s Hawai’ian, and the movie is about Pacific Islanders. I’m glad they didn’t get, like, Jennifer Lawrence to voice a 16 year old Pacific Islander girl.

I give this film a 9 out of 10

Moana is now available on DVD and Blu-Ray.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in Casabloga, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

