Casabloga: The Angry Birds Movie

In 2009, I played a little game called Angry Birds for the first time. It wasn’t entirely original (I’d played a similar flash game in high school with a bow and arrow), but it was an addictive take on the concept.

Over the years Rovio, the developer of the game, has released countless different versions of the game. There’s one based on Star Wars, there’s a Transformers one, and even one based on the movie Rio. Who can forget Space? There’s a racer game, an RPG adventure game, and a spinoff where you play as the pigs.

There were talks about a movie for years, but I always rolled my eyes because that’s taking things too far. Finally, though, they announced the movie. When I saw the initial trailer, I decided to pretend that it didn’t even exist. I mean, it didn’t even make sense! Now they have arms and legs and can talk? Rovio was obviously just cranking out random garbage to make a quick buck.

But then several of my friends saw it and suggested I give it a chance. Of course, I ended up giving in and forced myself to watch it tonight. And, to my surprise, I loved it!

They could have taken what little story the game had (pigs steal eggs, the birds are angry and go after the pigs) and made an equally flimsy film. But no, they expanded on what they had. In fact, the pigs appear to be friendly at first. Only the main character, Red, suspects anything. The eggs aren’t even taken until more than halfway through the film.

The humour was also something that surprised me. I was laughing through most of the movie. Especially at the Lake of Wisdom scene. That part alone gave me a headache from laughing so hard.

Let’s hope Rovio takes this success and makes more good decisions. I’d hate for them to ruin what they’ve done here.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in Casabloga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

