The Elder Blog: Tomb Raider (2013)

I honestly forgot about this blog series of mine. There’s been several games I’ve played between Assassin’s Creed and now (such as LEGO: Jurassic World and Just Dance 2015), and I’d have loved posting about those. Maybe some other time.

Anyway, I’d never been a huge fan of the Tomb Raider series. I’d of course played a couple of the games over the years, but they were largely forgettable for me. I don’t even remember which titles I played. Anniversary maybe? Point is,  was largely bored by it. So two years ago when I heard about the reboot, I rolled my eyes and asked why they even bothered anymore. I thought Lara Croft was a lost cause, because people only liked her for one reason, and it wasn’t her story or gameplay, which is a horrible reason to make games.

Earlier this year, a friend let me borrow Uncharted 3. It was a life changing experience. Maybe I’ll do a post on that one someday, but it was the most intense, cinematic game I’d ever played. So when I was looking at the Gamefly page for Tome Raider, and several reviews compared it to Uncharted, I immediately added it to my Q. I wanted to at least try it.

Within the first TWENTY SECONDS the intensity of the game made me realize that this wasn’t going to be a forgettable game. In the first ten minutes of the game, Lara goes from being on a ship, peacefully, to falling and being impaled on a bar (in her side), being washed onshore and immediately knocked out, waking up hanging upside down and having to free herself. The rest of the opening level has her clutching her still-bleeding side, covered in blood and dirt. The end of the opening level has her standing on a cliff overlooking the island as the title appears (like the beginning of Arkham Asylum, when Batman overlooks the asylum as the title appears).

That’s just the first ten minutes. I remembered from the old games that hardly anything bad ever happened to her. Now here the first thing that happens to her is she gets impaled and bleeds. I told a friend I love what they did to her character and she gasped, to which I said, “…storywise, not the torture”.

I really do love what they did to her character. She’s now a real person. When she makes her first kill, she freaks out because she’d never killed anyone before.

The game has been compared to Uncharted, as I said earlier, and that includes the fact that Lara should have been dead long before you have the ability to control her. She goes through so many things that would kill a normal person (being thrown against a wall from an explosion, explosions engulfing her while she runs…these were during cutscenes, not gameplay). But I guess that’s part of the fun of video games. If it was totally realistic, no one would play it, because then it’d be boring.

Not to mention the continual upgrades to the weapons keeps the gameplay interesting. I always favour archery in gaming, and this is no exception. I was shooting at enemies with my rifle and it was going everywhere, not hitting anything. Then I switched to my bow and got headshot after headshot. So fun.

If you haven’t played this game yet, I highly recommend it. I give it 8/10.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in The Elder Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Elder Blog: Tomb Raider (2013)

  1. Pingback: The Elder Blog: Just Dance | The Blog

Leave a Reply

