My Thoughts: Marvel’s Daredevil

When I heard that Marvel was going to reboot Daredevil for the Marvel Cinematic Universe, exclusively for Netflix, I can’t tell you how excited I was. I loved the 2003 Ben Affleck movie, despite how universally hated it is, so I was curious to see what they did with it in the universe of The Avengers. Which is another thing I was excited about. It’s not just a regular reboot.

Like almost everything Marvel is doing these days, Daredevil is part of the shared cinematic universe they’ve established. Not only that, it takes place in the aftermath of the epic battle in New York at the end of The Avengers. They didn’t just forget about it, they incorporated into the story.

Before I get to the story, I want to talk about the tone of the series. Like the 2003 film, the series is very dark in content. Especially in contrast to most of the MCU. This isn’t the family-friendly atmosphere of Thor or Iron Man. People die nearly every episode, sometimes very violently. There’s also loads more swearing than you’d hear in the movies. This might seem like a disappointing departure from the tone of the rest of the MCU, but in reality it makes it more believable. Just as in the real world, not everyone’s story would be a lighthearted comedy. There would be a few dark alleyways for some people. This series covers topics you don’t see in the rest of the MCU. At one point you actually see someone shoot up with a syringe and get high, laughing at Daredevil’s questions, then being surprised that he’s real when he hits them. That alone is darker than most of the rest of the MCU.

Anyway, the characters. By the end of the first episode, I already knew these were characters that I was going to care about. Even though the series is darker, there’s still the Marvel comedy throughout the show, especially when it comes to the main characters, Matt, Foggy, and Karen. You believe immediately that Matt and Foggy have known each other since college.

I was originally going to give spoilers to talk about the story, but it’s only been out a week and I only just finished it. Maybe once it’s been out awhile. If you haven’t already seen it, here it is on Netflix. I very highly recommend it!

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

