The Elder Blog: Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

I didn’t get into the Assassin’s Creed series until last year. A friend suggested Brotherhood, so I tried it and loved it. I watched a video of the Gaming Lemon playing Black Flag and wanted to try it. So I added it to my Q on Gamefly.

I’ll say now, it was the first game rented from Gamefly I actually paid to keep. I absolutely love it! Even more than Brotherhood. I’ve always liked pirates, so maybe I was bound to like this title, but I think it also has something to do with the fact that Ubisoft took the gameplay of Assassin’s Creed and added sailing to other cities instead of just focusing on one.

I remember when The Legend of Zelda: The Windwaker first came out, everyone hated it because there was so much sailing. Ironically, that’s the biggest praise I hear for Black Flag. Perhaps it’s because you can realistically sail in a wooden ship instead of a talking dragon boat.

Seriously, it made me think of things I’d never even considered about sailing. To be honest, I’ve never been on a boat, but I feel like I have now. I’ve always wondered why people get seasick, here I sit watching my ship rolling over wave after wave, watching crew being thrown every which way, and it suddenly makes sense. I also never really considered that the sails were really effected by, you know, THE WIND. If the wind is blowing too hard, it’s very difficult to turn your ship.

So in a way, this isn’t just a game, it’s also an educational tool. Now I not only know how to sail a wooden ship, but I also know how to air assassinate someone from a watchtower. Sure, I’ll probably get injured in the process for both of those, but still…

Some of the objectives are very challenging, but it’s just the right level of difficulty. I’ve only thrown my controller in fury fifteen times, so it’s a really good game.

My rating: 9/10

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in The Elder Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

