Outdated Phrases

I know it’s been awhile since I did a post, but I’m still without a computer. I just had the idea to write this and did minimal research. I’m still solely using my phone so I’m not able to do as much as I’d like to do. But I really wanted to do a post. So this may be a little less “professional” than my previous posts.

We usually don’t think much about the phrases we use everyday. They’re so fused into our minds that it’s just a normal thing. But when’s the last time you’ve dialed a number or hung up a phone? Or rolled down a window, or filmed something? Probably never.

In fact, I’m pretty sure that no one reading this has ever hung up a phone. That phrase is from the old phones we see in movies and cartoons, with the ear piece that you hold to your ear, and the part you talk into mounted on the wall. You’d hang up the ear piece when you wanted to end the call.

It’s more likely that some of you have dialed a number. Those old phones with the circular dial.

I remember rolling down the window in cars. In fact, I didn’t even think about it until a couple weeks ago when I was riding with a friend from church when we rolled do….lowered the windows and he asked why we still say “roll down the window”. That’s really when I got the idea for this post.

A few minutes later, I pulled out my phone and started recording video, and right before he said, “You’re not filming, you’re making a video”. You can hear me at the beginning referencing that. But he has a point. I’m pretty sure that the Galaxy S4 doesn’t use film.

In 2009, I went to get my driver’s license. I took my written exam……on the computer…

I’m sure there’s loads more I could list, but it’s nearly 1am and I’m going on very little sleep. Feel free to comment this with other examples of outdated phrases. I’d love to see examples from other eras, like things that were commonplace centuries ago yet we still use today.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

