Casabloga: Frozen

Usually when a film is marketed to death before it’s even released, you automatically know it’s going to be bad. Why would they bother slapping that snowman on everything six months before the film even comes out unless the movie sucks and they know it? So when Frozen did come out and everyone I knew was screaming at me to go see it, I just rolled my eyes and called them sheep.

But tonight I finally sold out and watched that piece of crap. Which is why I am reviewing it now. I only review movies I consider to be the greatest ever made. That obvious piece of crap turned out to be one of the best Disney movies I have seen in a long time. And I am including Brave in that list of movies I’ve seen.

Yes, Frozen did the seemingly impossible and made this list before Brave did. This movie is better than BRAVE of all things!!

True, the characters look like they are from Tangled, and the story is merely a retelling of a Hans Christian Anderson book, but Disney does it in a way to make it a brand new story that stands on its own.

Not to mention the songs. Something you don’t see very often anymore is songs in animated movies. As in, the characters breaking out into song for parts that they could easily speak. This movie goes back to that formula, and in a very good way. It doesn’t feel forced, like in some movies that try to do it, but adds to the overall story.

Speaking of not being forced, I wouldn’t be able to complete this review without talking about the characters here. It’s quite common for movies to have a princess or other girl character attempt to get out of the stereotypical “perfection” routine, but they always “solve” it by making them clumsy, tripping over their own feet or needlessly awkward. In Frozen, Anna (the younger princess) is the first time I’ve ever seen this attempted successfully. She’s clumsy and awkward, but it doesn’t come off as forced. She’s naturally clumsy and awkward. It makes for some of the funniest moments I’ve seen in Disney movies in a long time.

Finally, there is the stereotypical “true love’s first kiss” cliche. It’s a staple of Disney movies, and it’s here. But it’s handled and resolved in a way I never would have expected.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in Casabloga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

