Casabloga: The Aviator

Yeah, I spend too much time playing Skyrim now. Before I got the PS3, I posted 14 entries in three weeks. In the week since I got it I have only posted one. I would blame the fact I’m about to move for my lapse in activity here, but in reality I have also stopped packing because I’m trying to find my dad, Liam Neeson. Oh, and I’m playing Fallout 3.

Anyway, I bought the Blu-Ray of The Aviator today. Wasn’t intending to do a review over it, but watching it I remembered how much I loved it. I also bought the Blu-Ray of The Dark Knight, which I’ve been meaning to do a review over, so I guess now I’m going to have to do that one next.

Anyway, the movie is about Howard Hughes, the famous movie director/plane guy. He had mental problems and this movie captures it perfectly. But it ends too soon. He eventually died, but it ends long before then.

I want to talk about three things here…

1. Leo DiCaprio’s acting – He tends to BECOME the characters in his movies. In J. Edgar, even though it was clearly him, he really looked and sounded like the FBI director. In this movie, he really looks and sounds and acts like Howard Hughes.

2. Cate Blanchett as Katharine Hepburn – Spot on performance, don’t you find?

3. Rufus Wainright – YES!

Oh, no! I hear a dragon off in the distance. I need to pull out my Dawnbreaker and get a Shout ready!

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in Casabloga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

