Casabloga: Gravity

This is the review I have waited the longest to do. It’s the movie that convinced me that I had to do this series. But I decided right off the bat that I was going to adopt the Nostalgia Critic‘s rule of not reviewing anything that’s still in theatres. I’ve been waiting for this day for a long time, for today is the DVD release date of Gravity.

I first heard of this film in May 2013, when I first saw the teaser trailer. I was instant excited about it, but also feared that the trailers were just making it look good. Surely they would find some way to make it stupid. People would see it and say it was the worst movie of all time. The last movie about space I saw was LOVE, which turned out to be a rather boring movie. The visuals were stunning and the music was amazing (well, it was Angels & Airwaves, so of course it was!), but the overall movie was just plain boring.

So after watching LOVE, I was worried that this was yet another case of an amazing-looking space movie that would heavily disappoint. But I went to see it anyway. Unfortunately, it was December when I saw it, and I had to save money to buy Christmas gifts, so I didn’t see it in 3D. Every time I tell people that I get the same reaction. They give me the same look you just made at the screen. I know, i know. It was just a couple of dollars, so I should have done it. I’m going to have to live with that decision the rest of my life, unless they re-release it someday.

Anyway, The moment it starts, you get the feeling that this isn’t just any ordinary movie. Everyone has been talking about the 15 minutes opening shot. Well, it’s actually 13 minutes. I looked. That’s still a very long shot. There are a bunch of long shots in this movie. Considering how many effects are in this movie, I’m assuming it was hard to shoot those long shots. I don’t know how they did the effects in this movie, and honestly I don’t want to find out. I choose to believe they actually sent Saundra Bullock and George Clooney into outer space for the duration of filming. Well, considering how accurate this film is, according to the experts, I wouldn’t be surprised if that’s what happened.

The terror Bullock expresses while cartwheeling further from Earth, and the closeness of the camera to her, really makes you feel claustrophobic and imagine how such a situation would feel. You feel her terror through the film. If I could sum up this film in one word, it’d be “intense”.

Gravity

Very intense

I’ve now seen this movie twice. I loved it the first time, and even more the second time. The climax of the film has a very epic feel to it, and I think it ended at just the right moment. I guess you can think if it as a cliffhanger, where you can just use your imagination to decide what happens next. There’s evidence throughout the film that things on Earth were about as crazy as in space. There’s a throwaway line by Clooney where he says (and I’m paraphrasing, I think), “Half of America just lost their Facebook”, meaning of course that the internet is down. I’d get into what I think happens, but I think I might save that for a “My Thoughts” entry in the future. I’ve actually thought plenty about this since I saw it the first time, and I have even more thoughts on it now, so I’ll let them build up and then write them out.

Unfortunately, I was unable to get it on Blu-Ray as I had my player stolen in early December. Amazon Instant Video for me this time. It was actually my first AIV purchase, so there’s also that. I was just too lazy to go out and buy the DVD.

Doug Walker does a better review of this than I could ever hope to do.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in Casabloga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

