My Thoughts: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic (Season 1)

A minute ago, I finished season one of Friendship Is Magic. I’ve been meaning to watch this show for a long time, but finally got to it about a week ago. This whole time I wanted to do a post about it, but I knew there’d have to be multiple posts. But when I finished season one just now, I decided to do a post about it at the end of each season. I don’t remember everything from this season, so this post might end up having updates as time goes on.

I never watched the original My Little Pony series, but any time anyone talks about it, they talk about how there were no real characters, that the show just jammed as many Ponies on the screen as possible so they could market more toys. If that’s true, I am glad they actually took FiM seriously. I am a huge fan of character development and story.FiM is full of some of the best characters I’ve seen in a long time.

Take, for example, Rarity. When we first meet her, she is totally stuck up, clean, sophisticated. In several episodes, you see her freak out because she’s dirty or her clothes are. In episode 8 (“Look Before You Sleep”), Rarity and Apple Jack get into a fight that starts because Rarity doesn’t do much hard work, and she complains because rain is going to ruin her mane, and finally she didn’t want to get her hoofs muddy. Fast forward to the season finale of season one (“Best Night Ever”). At one point she is covered in cake, and she mocks an arrogant prince because he doesn’t want to get dirty, and she shakes some off on him.

My favourite character is by far Fluttershy.

 

See?

See?

 

She is the very definition of adorable. However, I feel the most important character has to be Pinkie Pie. It’s hard to explain, and maybe it’s explained in later seasons, but there’s just something about her. She seems like she’s an idiot at first (s very happy idiot), but as the season progresses you learn that she’s perhaps the smartest character. She was the only one who knew what those creatures were that kept multiplying (I forget the name). She is always doing things that seem random, but you later find out she had a reason for doing. She also manages to keep getting ahead of Rainbow Dash. Every time Rainbow is running from her, Pinkie always manages to already be where she tries to hide. I first started realizing there was more to her than appeared a few episodes in (Episode 5, “Griffon the Brush-Off”). Pinkie and Rainbow are playing pranks on everyone, but when Rainbow suggests they prank Fluttershy, Pinkie stopped her, saying she’s to frail (I forgot the exact wording). Later in that same episode, a bully yells at Fluttershy and upsets her, and Pinkie gets angry and said, “NO ONE HURTS FLUTTERSHY!! NO ONE!!!”

Another reason I think Pinkie Pie is so important is because in episode 23 (“The Cutie Mark Chronicles”), she tells the story of how she got her Cutie Mark, and at the end of her story she says…. Hang on, I am going to look up the actual quote. . .

 

Pinkie Pie[concluding her story] And that’s how Equestria was made!

Scootaloo: Wha? Huh?

Pinkie Pie: Maybe on the way home, I can tell you how I got my cutie mark. It’s a gem.

Sweetie Belle: Oh c’mon, she’s just being Pinkie Pie.

First off, anytime anyone says something like “Oh, she’s just being Pinkie Pie”, it turns out there’s more to it than would first appear. This moment was never explained in the episode. Especially considering SHE JUST TOLD THEM HOW SHE GOT HER CUTIE MARK!!! There is definitely more to this…

Secondly, what did she mean by, “And that’s how Equestria was made!”? You could just blow this off as her being random or telling a joke, but by this point in the series, I’ve learned to take Pinkie Pie a little more series than the others do.

The show definitely has an ongoing story. In episode 16 (“Sonic Rainboom”), Rainbow Dash says she performed a Sonic Rainboom when she was a kid, but another Pegasus says it never happened. Then later in “The Cutie Mark Chronicles”, you find out thatshe did, in fact, do it when she was a kid, and that it changed everything. What started off as a possible throwaway line turns out to have been a critical moment.

This show is so rich in content that I know for a fact that there will be updates. I have barely scratched the surface here. I didn’t mention Spike, or Celestia, or Apple Blossom…. I will update this as I remember more, and will be covering Season 2 once I watch it.

About Trevor Boot

I’ve been officially writing since 2004, when I was 15, but I started writing for fun now and then in 2001, when I was 12. I mostly wrote short stories and poems, but then in 2008, I wrote my first novel, titled Xangsburgh. Before this, my writing never really had any direction. I would just write independent stories that had no connection with each other, so I always had to start over from scratch. With Xangsburgh, I had a fictional city I could base all my stories in, with the stories building on each other. For me, that made writing easier, because now I don’t have to start from scratch every time. I could use Sheriff Brock without having to introduce him every time. In 2011, I realized I really enjoyed taking pictures. Several of my friends would comment that my pictures were near-professional quality. So on top of my writing, I’m also an amateur photographer. In 2014, I published Xangsburgh, as well as a photo book with some of my favourite photos I have taken, and a book of poems I’ve written between 2001 and 2013.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Thoughts: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic (Season 1)

  1. Trevor Boot says:

    Update coming soon.

  2. Pingback: My Thoughts: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (Season 2) | The Blog

Leave a Reply

